So, what does the road actually mean? – a post explaining what Girl Meets Road stands for.

TheRoad

“But why think about that when all the golden lands ahead of you and all kinds of unforseen events wait lurking to surprise you and make you glad you’re alive to see?”

Jack Kerouac, On The Road

When creating this blog, we took a lot of inspiration from Jack Kerouac’s novel, On The Road.  Read it, if you get a chance – it’s what awakened that very first whisper of ‘what if’. By the end of it, I hungered to travel.

(Side note: Check out Cheryl Strayed’s Wild while you’re at it.)

‘The road’, really, is personal to each person to undertakes a journey. It can be metaphorical, though to us, it is physical – it is a destination.  It doesn’t have to be an actual road or roadtrip. It can be a plane, a bus, a kayak across the Murray River.  It’s a trip to your best friend’s house. It means you are moving and broadening your views. It’s a learning experience. It’s near and it’s far.

The road, therefore, is anywhere you like.

To us, the words ‘the road’ were chosen to represent this blog because the road represents anything – it’s transformative and it is so individual to each person.  To us, this is what it means to travel: there is no one ‘place’ or one ‘person’ you have to go or you have to be. It’s entirely up to you. It’s freedom.

Saying that, check out our blog on LondonParis, Berlin, Prague, Queenstown, The Great Ocean Road, and more for some ideas on where to head next on the road!

“I knew that if I allowed fear to overtake me, my journey was doomed. Fear, to a great extent, is born of a story we tell ourselves, and so I chose to tell myself a different story from the one women are told. I decided I was safe. I was strong. I was brave. Nothing could vanquish me.”

Cheryl Strayed, ‘Wild’

NZ

Leave a Reply

