Weekend one in Malaysia

It got a little tiresome to try and write day by day, especially ’cause the first few days were basically settling in and getting used to (or trying to) the humidity (damn, I’m Australian and even I can’t cope with the heat). So this recap is of the first weekend we spent in Malaysia.

Getting into our rooms was… an experience. I was surprised to find myself dealing with a kind of jetlag, in the way I woke up much earlier than usual. I decided to sleep facing the window like I do at home, so my pillow sat at the end of the bed and I woke to the forest beyond me:

IMG_0249

I was initially extremely anxious to go to sleep, because some kind of animal (a squirrel, according to the cleaners) had left a gift on my bed (the rooms had clearly not been cleaned prior to our arrival as I found out other horror stories from students the next day), but the morning view took my breath away and all was (mostly) okay.

On Sunday, we spent the day unpacking and then went on a trip to Suria KLCC, which was a sight to behold and probably the biggest mall I’ve ever seen in my life. I am generally not scared of heights at all, but felt my stomach dropped when I went to the sixth level and peered down.

We visited the Kuala Lumpur Central Markets. You can’t miss it. It was sensation galore. I limped around twice, my poor knee having no choice but to put up with it as I bought a new pashmina scarf from the market’s divine Little India.

All in all, it was a very enjoyable, hot, sweaty first couple of days.IMG_0060.JPG

 

Leave a comment